top of page

I stopped sweating the sweat when I gave up deodorant.

Full disclosure: I sweat. Yep. I'm a lady and I sweat like a man... Ahem. Excuse me, I sweat like a bad-ass lady boss because I am one!!

I'm sure everyone wanted to know this about me. Well, if you already knew me than you already knew this about me. Much like my toe thumbs, being sweaty is just part of who I am. And if you didn't know me, now you know this too. You're welcome.

The toughest part of being a teacher all those years ago was getting through reaching up to write on the board knowing I had sweat rings on my shirt. I also hate doing laundry (which is a story for another day), and that is not conducive to the ultra-sweaty lifestyle. I also work out a lot, so the drippy, sweaty grossness can get incredibly intense. And how about pageants?!? You better believe it's a little nerve-wracking to get up on the stage under all the lights and walk like you're Beyonce. No pressure.

And I tried allllll the deodorants. However, the stronger the deodorant, the more disgusting I felt. Weird, right? Well, here's what happens with deodorant and me. It collects the sweat, and then for some reason, it would ball up and fall out of my pits. SO gross. I would wind up with deodorant chunks on my office chair (and therefore on my pants) and on my gym mat after doing planks and push-ups, and I would still end up smelly. AND when I would shower, I never felt like the soap and water actually cut through the leftover deodorant, so it felt like the stink NEVER went away... AND I would still smell bad and still perspire, but then feel sticky and grimy.

I've also been transitioning into a much more organic, health-conscious, sustainable (hippy?) lifestyle. After yoga one day, I needed groceries, but I felt so zen and at peace with the universe that I couldn't bring myself to go to WalMart. I went to Fargo's own Natural Grocer instead. I bought all the organic produce and meats, I bought polenta (no clue what it was, but it seemed like a good idea at the time... turns out I was right. Oh, and it's basically cornmeal in a tube. Slice it and fry it, mix it in with your eggs... so yummy!). I also needed deodorant, so I went to the health and beauty section in search of some sort of recyclable bottle of something because I also don't love the hard plastic of deodorant sticks.

And there it was. This was where I found life-changing organic essential oil spray in French Lavender. Ooo-la-la. First of all, I LOVE lavender because of the soothing scent. Secondly, anything labeled "essential oil" just makes me happy. Here are my takes on this delightful bottle of joy: I still sweat. HOWEVER, it is absolutely liberating to not be tied down to the sticky white mess that is traditional deodorant! When I shower, I feel clean. When I work out, I still smell when I'm done (but I always have), and you can't follow my trail of deodorant balls. When I put on shirts, I don't have to double-check for deodorant stains. It's just soooo much better. I feel as though I can't even convey the joy. I perspire, so I still pit-out just a little bit, but once again, that was happening anyway with regular deodorant. I just don't feel like I have that sticky-sweet fake scent mixed with BO and yuck.

I am not a paid spokesperson. I would share my bank account info to prove it, but that would be embarrassing. So just believe that I smell better, feel better, and I can put this in the pile of recyclables when it's empty! It's a win-win-win!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page