top of page

39 New Things


Soap-making, and SO much more!

So... I started a quest last May. I turned 39 on May 26th, 2018, and I decided that I needed to do something to make myself feel better about turning 40 in a year. I learned to knee board - very well, actually, and it inspired me to start trying new things. I made it my mission to try 39 new things before May 26th, 2019. As with most things I do, my mission started out strong, and then fizzled... but only somewhat.


One of my fears of growing older is growing complacent - feeling comfortable resting on my laurels. But, I started trying new things, and I realized that I don't think I will EVER be that person! I do get comfortable in my day-to-day; I really do appreciate a routine. However, I am also pretty much always on the move. So even though my mission fizzled a bit, I never quit because there is always (and I mean ALWAYS) something going on in my life.


And this has actually been a great few days for my new things! I had a bit of a downer weekend, but things picked up, and I decided I need to rekindle my missions; I'm going to list my new things, and I am going to keep it going! I hope I can remember all of the things!

1. Knee boarding

2. Eating pomegranite

3. Eating kimchi

(and then I gave up on new foods because I actually really love trying new foods, and I do it any chance I can!)

4. Make-up free Live Facebook video (I know... not crazy, but definitely outside my comfort zone!)

5. Watching a Burnout Competition (basically cars spinning their tires until they create the most smoke... or their tire blows)

6. Canning

7. Tomato Sauce from scratch

8. Silk Yoga

9. Character-inspired make-up

10. Started a nonprofit (Sustainable Beauty Foundation!!)

11. Learned to knit (this did not take, unfortunately. It takes way too much concentration!)

12. Learned to crochet (see above - also not a fan)

13. Grew my own squash

12. Became certified in a group fitness class (Strong by Zumba)

13. Taught group fitness

14. Made soap (see above picture)

15. Snow-tubed

16, Climbed the rock wall at the pool - and made it to the top, I might add.

17. Blogging!


I'm getting there! Many of these things were not done specifically for this mission. I just happened to do them. So as I was sitting here racking my brain to remember all of it, I realized that I am just doing things for the sake of doing them! I really want to make it to 39, so I'm always open to new ideas. I know I will be making bath bombs here shortly, so I'll make it to 18.


After a bit of a downer of a weekend, I am so happy to be able to write this blog. The most important part of this project I am coming to learn is how thankful I need to be that I am able to do all of this. I have been blessed. Despite everything else going on in my life, and as cliche as this sounds, I am truly blessed!


Here's to 40! Bring on a new decade - I'm ready to meet it head-on!

12 views0 comments
bottom of page